‘Resonance’ Soundtrack Planning

I’ve been thinking a lot about the songs that I want to use for my film, as I want them to convey the feelings that I want the film as a whole to convey. After looking online for royalty free music that fits the tone of my film, I couldn’t find anything that I was particularly happy with.

One song that has been in my head for how well it fits the tone has been ‘Daydreaming’ by Radiohead. This song starts off with having no vocals until about 1 minute 20 seconds into it. It has a very sombre tone that in a way is a reflection on how people act while they are daydreaming. For this reason, I feel like this song would fit really well for the beginning of my film, as the protagonist goes about his daily life, as he is never really fully being present.

 

The end of my film is meant to be a hopeful finish, where the future of the protagonist looks bright. For this reason, I feel like the song that inspired the title of my film would be a perfect fit. The song in question is ‘Resonance’ by HOME, and I feel like it would serve as a great companion to the backdrop of a colourful sunset.

 

For the rest of the film in the middle, I’m not sure yet if I want to have any music or not. I think the best thing to do for now would be to decide that while I’m editing the film. By that point, I’ll have a much better idea of if those scenes will need anything playing in the background or if I can just have the diegetic sounds of the environment. If I do decide that more music is needed, then I’ll write a second blog post that goes through that process of finding something that fits the mood.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started